Kawana Waters master planned development

Kawana Waters is the name given broadly to an area of 1,613 hectares between Currimundi Creek and the Mooloolah River.

Over 90% of the Kawana Waters area has been progressively developed since a development lease was first granted in the 1960s. This is administrated by the Department of Resources.

The current master planning arrangements for Kawana Waters were introduced in 1996. Suburbs in the Kawana Waters area developed before 1996 are covered by the Sunshine Coast Planning Scheme 2014. This includes Buddina, Warana, Wurtulla and established parts of Bokarina.

The Sunshine Coast Planning Scheme 2014 identifies specific areas of Kawana Waters as part development control plan 1 - Kawana Waters (DCP-1). This includes:

  • Parrearra (Kawana Island)
  • Birtinya
  • Bokarina Beach
  • Meridan Plans (Kawana Forrest), and
  • Currimundi (Creekside).

Map of land within development control plan 1 (PDF, 1.3MB)

Under the provisions of (DCP-1), development of land within the area must follow the master planned community development process. Council must approve a series of master plans before individual sites or precincts can be developed.

The Kawana master plans are hierarchical and provide varying levels of guidance for land developers and council in the assessment of individual developments. All development must comply with DCP-1, the structure plan and any relevant master plans.

You can find out more about the Kawana Waters master planned development area in this fact sheet (DOCX, 2.1MB).

For more information please contact council's development services.

Kawana master plans and maps

Master plans and maps for Kawana Waters development area