Mary River turtle protection program

The Mary River turtle protection program (MRTPP) aims to protect the threatened Mary River turtle.

The Mary River turtle protection program (MRTPP) aims to protect the threatened Mary River turtle. This native turtle species is found only in the Mary River catchment. It is vulnerable to a range of threats including foxes, who eat the eggs before they have a chance to hatch.

The program's initial focus was on protecting individual clutches of eggs. It has now developed to catchment-wide program involving collaborative action from community and government to support turtle populations.

The MRTPP is a collaboration between the community, Sunshine Coast Council, Tiaro Landcare, Mary River Catchment Co-ordinating Committee, Gympie Regional Council, Noosa Shire Council and Fraser Coast Regional Council.

Council is supporting the program through invasive animal control and monitoring.

Target species

European fox (Vulpes vulpes); feral cat (Felis catus); feral pig (Sus scrufa); feral fallow deer (Dama dama); feral red deer (Cervus elaphus); feral rusa deer (Cervus timorensis) and wild dog (Canis lupus familiaris).




Multiple private properties across the Mary River catchment. View the Mary River turtle protection program map (PDF, 5.4MB).

Get involved

If you would like your property to be part of the Mary River turtle protection program, please contact council

For more information on other Mary River turtle protection activities please contact Tiaro Landcare.

Protection methods

More information

Sunshine Coast Council acknowledges the Sunshine Coast Country, home of the Kabi Kabi peoples and the Jinibara peoples, the Traditional Custodians, whose lands and waters we all now share.
We commit to working in partnership with the Traditional Custodians and the broader First Nations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) community to support self-determination through economic and community development.
Site help & accessibility
Sign-up for our newsletter
Follow us
© Sunshine Coast Regional Council 2008 - 2023