Development assessment rules

The Development Assessment (DA) Rules explain how development applications in Queensland must be lodged, assessed and decided. The DA Rules also outline how to undertake public notification.

The development assessment process is set out in Statutory Instrument called the DA Rules. The assessment process involves the following parts:

  • Part 1 - application
  • Part 2 - referral
  • Part 3 - information request
  • Part 4 - public notification
  • Part 5 - decision.

Not all parts apply to every development application. Similarly, not all actions within each part may apply.

To view the DA Rules, visit the State Government website.


Forms, fact sheets and checklists to help you prepare your development application (DA).