Council elections
  • Last updated:
  • 17 Mar 2020

Local Government elections are held every 4 years.

The next council elections will be held on Saturday 28 March 2020.

All elections in Queensland are conducted by the Electoral Commission Queensland (ECQ). ECQ are responsible for all voting matters, including how and where to vote.

Visit the ECQ website for a full list of candidates for the upcoming elections.

Enquiries about council elections, including how and where to vote, should be directed to ECQ via their website or by phoning 1300 881 665.

Council divisions - boundary changes & what you need to know

The internal boundaries (divisions) of the Sunshine Coast Council area are changing.

Council divisions were reviewed by the Local Government Change Commission in 2019, with boundary changes commencing at the March 2020 elections.

The Local Government Change Commission is an independent body that is responsible for ensuring each division of Council has a similar number of enrolled voters at the elections. This is important in a democracy because it ensures each person's vote has equal representation at the ballot box.

Visit the Sunshine Coast Divisional Boundary review webpage to see if your division has changed, or for more information about the review.

If you are enrolled to vote, the ECQ will be posting a Voter Information Card to your address closer to the election which will advise you of your division.

To enrol to vote or to update or check your details, please contact the Australian Electoral Commission on 13 23 26 or visit their website.

Running for Council?

ECQ's website also contains lots of information for candidates including how to nominate and the associated legislative requirements.

The Department of Local Government, Racing and Multicultural Affairs' website is also a good source of information for candidates, including access to the mandatory "So you want to be a councillor" training.

Sunshine Coast Council information for candidates:

Election signage

Sunshine Coast Council Fact Sheet - Election signage[180KB]

Department of Transport and Main Roads - Election signs