Council elections

Council elections are held every 4 years. The last elections were held on 28 March 2020.

Local Government elections are held every 4 years and are conducted by the Electoral Commission Queensland (ECQ).

The most recent council elections were held on Saturday 28 March 2020 at which one mayor and 10 councillors were elected. Sunshine Coast Regional Council is made up of 10 divisions. Each councillor represents one division.

Voting at local government elections in Queensland is compulsory. Enquiries about council elections and election results should be directed to ECQ via their website or by phoning 1300 881 665.

Sunshine Coast Council acknowledges the Sunshine Coast Country, home of the Kabi Kabi peoples and the Jinibara peoples, the Traditional Custodians, whose lands and waters we all now share.
We commit to working in partnership with the Traditional Custodians and the broader First Nations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) community to support self-determination through economic and community development.
Site help & accessibility
Sign-up for our newsletter
Follow us
© Sunshine Coast Regional Council 2008 - 2023