A love affair for romance readers

If you are an avid romance reader or want to learn about what goes into writing a best-seller, put this date in your calendar.

 
A love affair for romance readers

Sunshine Coast Libraries invites you to join leading author Rachael Johns and local writer Roxanne McCarty-O’Kane for a deep-dive into all things love, romance and writing on Friday, February 16, at Venue 114.

Tickets are expected to sell-out, so don’t delay in securing yours. See details below.

About Rachael:

Rachael Johns is the best-selling, ABIA-winning author of The Patterson Girls and a number of other romance and women’s fiction books, including the popular Something to Talk About. She is currently Australia’s leading writer of contemporary relationship stories around women’s issues, a genre she has coined ‘life-lit’. The Patterson Girls won the 2016 Romance Writers of Australia RUBY Award and the 2015 Australian Book Industry Award for General Fiction. She continually places in Booktopia’s Top 50 Aussie Authors poll. Rachael has a new book called The Other Bridget, which she will discuss at the upcoming Sunshine Coast event.

About Roxanne:

Sunshine Coast local, Roxanne McCarty-O’Kane is a published author at Ignite & Write: The Mindful Author and works as presenter at The Phoenix Phenomenon and ghost-writer.

Event details:  

What: In Conversation with Rachael Johns
When: Friday 16 February, 2024
Where: Venue 114, 114 Sportsman Parade, Bokarina
Time: 10am, with doors open from 9.30am
Tickets: $25 per person (bookings essential via Libraries website). Light refreshments provided.

Enjoy a half-hour mingling before the show with light refreshments and live music by talented local artist, Lauren Hutton.  After the event, purchase copies of Rachael’s books from Harry Hartog Books and have it personally signed by the author. 

About the Book:

The Other Bridget is a feelgood romantic comedy and ideal for fans of Emily Henry and Marian Keyes. Named after a famous fictional character, librarian Bridget Jones was raised on a remote cattle station, with only her mother’s romance novels for company. Now living alone in Fremantle, Bridget is a hopeless romantic. If only her love life was that easy.

Written by Australia’s most beloved romance writer, The Other Bridget is a delightfully uplifting book about books, and a gorgeous celebration of the power and pleasure of romance novels throughout the ages.

Sunshine Coast Libraries are renowned for hosting some of Australia’s biggest writing talents. To make sure you don’t miss tickets to events, be sure to subscribe to Libraries eNews to be the first to find out about future events. To find out more visit library.sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au.

Visit the library website for more information library.sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au


This article A love affair for romance readers  has been supplied from the OurSC website and has been published here with permission.