2018 Winners
  • Last updated:
  • 14 May 2019

First PlaceRoboGems - Chancellor State College 

The all female team RoboGems from Chancellor State College, took out the top prize with their idea “Kitchen Top Helper”.

RoboGems team members Sarah Eisenmenger, Zara Barnsley and Ellie Vloedmans designed the Kitchen Top Helper (KTH), an automated irrigation system to water micro greens in small spaces such as kitchen tops or balconies.

Team RoboGems wins 2018 Mayor’s Telstra Technology Awards


Second Place: RoboKings - Chancellor State College 

Team RoboKings from Chancellor State College placed second with their design ‘Deuce’, an automatic tennis partner. Team members Mitchell Agnew, Maxwell Robbins and Jaxen Gleeson designed a prototype of their product and delivered a consistently strong pitch throughout the program.


Third Place: Growing Smart - Mountain Creek State High School 

Third place was awarded to team Growing Smart from Mountain Creek State High School with product LegionIrrigation. The team members Yashvi Parmar, Liam Ingall and Ethan Farquharson designed an Irrigation system aimed to decrease water wastage on farmland by increasing irrigation system efficiency.


Outstanding Female Entrepreneur: Yashvi Parmar from Mountain Creek State High School

There was a 32% increase in female participation in this year’s program, with 17 female participants choosing a winner for the Outstanding Female Entreprenuer Award was challenging for the Judges and Telstra and there were some very strong standouts through out the Awards.  

Year 10 student Yashvi Parmar from Mountain Creek, took out the Award and will be joining the winning team RoboGems on an all expenses paid day trip to Sydney with Telstra.  


Special Mention: The A Team from Nambour State College was also highly commended by the Judging panel for their idea “Driving Mate” and they have been invited to attend a business breakfast event with Steve Baxter in August.

View the video for the 2018 Mayor's Telstra Technology Awards.

Full Media release: Mayor Jamieson - Congrats to our technology awards winners