Previous award recipients
  • Last updated:
  • 12 Feb 2020

Below is a list of past Sunshine Coast Australia Day Award Winners since the Sunshine Coast Council began in 2009. Council holds annual Australia Day Awards which celebrate the outstanding achievements of individuals and groups in the region.


Citizen of the Year – Debra Knight
Debra volunteers at Gateway Care and took on a leadership role in 2009. The charity now supports more than 4000 families and provides 800 families each week with low cost groceries. Debra and the like-minded volunteers have made Gateway Care a safe-haven for support, comfort and encouragement.

Senior Citizen of the Year - David Woodrow
David has raised more than $300,000 for the emergency helicopter service and served in the SES for 30 years. He has played an active role in youth development and community support work, is a distinguished Rotarian and supported Buderim ANZAC Day celebrations for more than 20 years.

Young Citizen of the Year - Evie Marshall
While managing her own daily Cystic Fibrosis treatment and mental health, Evie successfully campaigned for Australians with CF to have affordable access to a life-extending medication. She supports other young people with CF to reduce social isolation and helped raise $150,000, aiding 50 local CF families and the local CF centre.

Community Group or Organisation - endED
Mark and Gayle Forbes founded endED three years ago and on a voluntary basis provide nationwide support to hundreds of sufferers and their families. They recently entered a joint venture with The Butterfly Foundation to construct the endED Butterfly House in Mooloolah Valley, Australia's first ED residential facility.

Sport and Recreation - Maroochy Athletic Club
Focusing on family fun and fitness since 1995, the club now hosts race series spanning five venues with 1438 runners and 150 volunteers. The club coordinated the State Cross Country Championships with 500 competitors and the Australian Cross Country Championships with 1100 competitors and 5000 spectators.

Creative - Art on Cairncross
Tony Gill and Jane Caraffi have owned local art galleries for 23 years and worked with Caloundra Tourism, Visit Sunshine Coast and Hinterland tourism agencies. Organising art gallery trails since the 1990s, their latest trail covers the whole region and includes information on exhibitions and visual arts events.

Environment and Sustainability - Wildlife Volunteer Association (WILVOS)
WILVOS provide rescue, rehabilitation and release services to injured, orphaned and distressed native animals. They receive over a thousand calls and rescue requests each year on their 24-hour emergency hotline. They also provide training and support for their dedicated carers.

Environment and Sustainability - Junior Eco-Leaders, Coolum and North Shore Coast Care
From training sessions to planning programs, the Junior Eco-Leaders encourage young children to discover marine life in rock pools, examine insects and identify native vegetation, while actively supporting tree plantings and bush care. Passionate about eliminating plastics from daily use, they have conducted beach clean-ups and rubbish research.


  • Citizen on the Year, Bruce and Denise Morcombe (tied result)
  • Young Citizen of the Year, Olivia Lindsay
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, Donald Moffatt
  • Community – Group or Organisation, Daniel Morcombe Foundation
  • Environment and Sustainability, Australia Zoo Wildlife Warriors
  • Creative, Judy Pippen
  • Sports and Recreation, Sunshine Coast Lightning


  • Citizen on the Year, Julie Penlington
  • Young Citizen of the Year, Jak Hardy
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, George Farmer 
  • Community – Group or Organisation, Innovation Centre, Sunshine Coast
  • Environment, Rhondda Alexander 
  • Creative, Robyn Ernst
  • Sports and Recreation, Ron Grabbe
  • Outstanding achievement Award, ‚ÄčLachlan Smart


  • Citizen on the Year, David Larkin
  • Young Citizen of the Year, Nathan Tressman and Brooke Pratt (tied result)
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, Anne Wensley
  • Community – Group or Organisation, Suncoast Community Legal Service
  • Environment, The Millington Family
  • Creative, Maria Salmon
  • Sports and Recreation, Marayke Jonkers


  • Citizen on the Year, Chris Turner
  • Young Citizen of the Year, Sarah Morcom
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, Prudence Cawley
  • Community – Group or Organisation, Police Citizens Youth Club (PCYC)
  • Environment, Derek Foster and Reef Check Australia (tied result)
  • Creative, Ferre De Deyne
  • Sports and Recreation, Julie Templeton


  • Citizen on the Year, David Dangerfield
  • Young Citizen of the Year, Bindi Irwin and Samara Welbourne (tied result)
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, Greg McKean
  • Community – Group or Organisation, Queensland Air Museum
  • Environment, Eumundi Wildlife Rehab Centre Inc.
  • Creative, Steven McLeish
  • Sports and Recreation, Tim Sheridan 


  • Citizen on the Year, Garry Church
  • Young Citizen of the Year, Adem Crosby
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, Esma Armstrong
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, Colin White
  • Community, Supporting Teenagers with Education, Mothering and Mentoring (STEMM)
  • Environment, Noosa and District Landcare Group
  • Creative, Jean Sandell
  • Sports and Recreation, Leanne Hipwood


  • Young Citizen of the Year, Ailish Bolt and Ashley Ogilvie (tied result)
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, Ruth Bode
  • Community, Jessie Wen Jie Li
  • Business, Ross Hopper
  • Environment, Kerry Jones
  • Creative, Jacqui O'Connor
  • Sports and Recreation, Gordon Howitt
  • Outstanding Achievement (Posthumous), Stan Tutt


  • Young Citizen of the Year, Manual Barth and Nathanael Ford (tied result)
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, Kevin Franzi
  • Community, Glenda Lloyd
  • Business, Amber Werchon
  • Environment, Leigh Warneminde
  • Creative, Cynthia Morgan
  • Sports and Recreation, Guy Tanner
  • Outstanding Achievement, Jessica Watson 


  • Young Citizen of the Year, Bianca Bond
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, John Cooke
  • Community, Dawn Wilson
  • Business, Donald McBryde
  • Environment, Vernon Flood
  • Creative, Ross and Tamsin Kerr
  • Sports and Recreation, Kristy Ellis
  • Posthumous Award, Allan and Kari Taylor


  • Young Citizen of the Year, Laura Monaghan
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, Malcolm Graham
  • Community, Valerie Zwart
  • Environment, Coolum District Coast Care Group
  • Creative, Lisa Chandler
  • Sports and Recreation, Roger Newton