Museum Development Program - Landsborough Museum
People attending a heritage workshop.
Heritage Levy
  • Last updated:
  • 31 Jul 2017

Sunshine Coast residents pay a Cultural Heritage Levy of $11 per annum. The levy is charged per household and is included in the rates payment. The levy aims to:

  • protect cultural places such as buildings and other significant sites
  • raise people’s awareness of the value of local heritage
  • celebrate the cultural heritage of the Sunshine Coast.

View the Cultural Heritage Levy Program – Budget 2017 – 2018.

Sunshine Coast Cultural Heritage Reference Group

The Sunshine Coast Cultural Heritage Reference Group (SCCHRG) is made up of heritage specialists and members of the community. It provides advice on preserving and accessing cultural heritage on the Sunshine Coast.


The group aims to:

  • raise the profile of cultural heritage
  • ensure cultural heritage is new, exciting and open to everyone
  • build a network of individuals, organisations, and museums
  • identify partners and opportunities
  • suggest expenditure of the Cultural Heritage Levy.


Four meetings are held throughout the year.


Name  Organisation 
 Cr Rick Baberowski (Chair-person)
Councillor, Sunshine Coast Council
 Helena Gulash Kabi Kabi First Nation. Registered Native Title Claimant Group
 Ken Murphy Jinibara Traditional People, determined Native Title holders
Olivia Robinson Heritage Practitioner
 Adrian Just Heritage Architect
 Roger Todd Heritage Architect
 Clive Plater Nambour Historical Society
 Wendy Birrell Discover Eumundi Heritage and Visitor Centre
 Darcelle Hegarty Bli Bli Maroochy Historical Society
 Frances Windolf Historian

Voluntary positions are for two years.

More information can be obtained by emailing the Cultural Heritage Services Unit