Environment and Liveability Photography Award
  • Last updated:
  • 06 Apr 2018

Get snapping and tell the story of "Our Sunshine Coast" as we celebrate the beauty and value of the Sunshine Coast's natural and built environments.

Open 9 March - 14 May 2018

 We invite photographers to capture images that share their visual interpretation and perspective of the underpinning foundations of the Environment and Liveability Strategy 2017.

  • Environment - the physical and biological surroundings in which plants, animals and people interact.
  • Liveability - the sum of many social, economic and environmental factors that add up to a community's quality of life now and in the future.
  • Resilience - the capacity of individuals, communities and systems to survive, adapt and grow.
  • Sustainability - how we meet the social, economic and environmental needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

All photographic works must be taken within the Sunshine Coast Council local government area and Terms and Conditions apply.

 The Environment and Liveability Strategy 2017, provides long term strategic direction to shape the region by guiding growth and delivering transformational change required to maintain a healthy environment and liveable Sunshine Coast in 2041 for future generations.

Image credits for banner: A Bowen, C Stewart, C Claxton, B Hettrick and S Beedle.


$8,000 prize pool

Open category

Winner $2,500                 
 Runner up $1,000   
 Highly commended (x4) $500         

High School category

Winner                     $700 (gift voucher)     
Runner up  $200 (gift voucher)

Junior Primary category

Winner                     $500 (gift voucher)    
Runner up  $100 (gift voucher)

People’s Choice                                    


'Our Sunshine Coast' exhibition locations to include Maroochy Bushland Botanic Gardens, Cotton Tree Esplanade Park (World Environment Day Festival) and more.

Related Links

Entry Form

2016 Environment Photo Award Finalists photographs