ven locals make the final cut for national Art Prize
  • Friday 21 May 2010

Seven local artists are among the forty finalists just announced for the national Sunshine Coast Art Prize – possibly inspired by the success of last year’s winner from Maleny.

This year’s prize, run by Sunshine Coast Council, attracted more than 400 entries from around the country, and the 40 chosen as finalists will be on display at the Caloundra Regional Gallery from 18 August – 3 October.

Last year, the prize went to Maleny local, Peter Hudson, for a striking painting of fish swimming towards the moon hovering over the ocean.

Hoping to follow in his footsteps this year are Sunshine Coast finalists Anita Pettinato, Miles Hall, Peter Hollard, Cezary Stulgis, Kevin Oxley, Rex Backhaus-Smith and Pam Walpole.

They are in the running to win a $20,000 cash and artists-in-residency prize when the winner is announced on Thursday 26 August at a gala event free for the public to attend.

The forty finalists also include Amaya Iturri, John Amsler, Greer Honeywill, Anne Saunders, Phillip Barnes, Ben Smith, Bronek Koska, , Catherine O’Donnell, Carly Scoufos, Deb Mostert, Desley Rolph, Evan Jones, Vicki Hersey, Stevan Jacks, Jill McFarlane, Jonathan McBurnie, Judy Rogers, Ken Johnson, Lisa Tomasetti, Locust Jones, Lynn Miller, Mark Thompson, Melissa Smith, Michael Muir, Miles Allen, Nameer Davis, Nic Plowman, Penny Cross, Rehgan De Mather, Reko Rennie, Simon Collins, Thomas Buchanan and Tracey Potter.

This year the Sunshine Coast Art Prize will be judged by national art critic and Sydney Morning Herald columnist John McDonald.