Winners announced for new youth library card design
  • Friday 11 February 2011

Sunshine Coast residents have voted for their favourite designs in Sunshine Coast Libraries’ DesignAcard competition – and the winners have been decided.

From a shortlist of eight entries, two designs by Mitch Winterburn and Nicholas Lythall were selected by the community as the winners. The designs of these two talented youngsters will appear on the new youth membership cards later in 2011.

The competition received 114 diverse entries from local artists aged 13 to 25 across the region.

Manager of Sunshine Coast Council’s Learning Communities Branch, Ross Duncan said Sunshine Coast Libraries created the DesignAcard competition to showcase the wealth of talent in the young adult community and to aid in attracting more young people to join as members.

"The Sunshine Coast community have chosen their favourite designs and decided on the final two winners," he said.

"It’s been wonderful to see not only the amazing talent possessed by young people on the Sunshine Coast but the community’s response in voting for their favourite designs. The eight shortlisted card designs were all of excellent quality."

Mr Duncan said Sunshine Coast Libraries already have more than 17,000 young adult members. By giving them a wider choice and variety of membership cards created by and for young people, libraries hope to attract more users from a younger generation.

The new designs will be available on membership cards later in 2011.

A panel of judges, including local award winning author/illustrator Peter Carnavas and graphic designer, Jo Edgar-Baker from idprint, shortlisted the eight entries on Friday 21 January. Voting was then opened to the wider community to choose their favourite design.

Shortlisted designs were:

Design 1: Mitch Winterburn Age 14

Design 2: Nicholas Lythall Age 17

Design 3: Shannon Male Age 17

Design 4: Kaitlyn Mackaway Age 18

Design 5: Katharine Bogard Age 20

Design 6: Ryan Casey Age 16

Design 7: Marius Sciana Age 23

Design 8: Felicia Long Age 22

Winners are:

Mitch Winterburn and Nicholas Lythall

Both winners now have the opportunity to work with Jo Edgar-Baker from idprint to refine their designs before a print run that will see their art work on Sunshine Coast Library cards.

More information about the winning designs can be found at the Sunshine Coast Libraries website from Thursday 10th February: