Time is running out to nominate a local hero
  • Monday 27 November 2017
sunshine coast australia day awards

If you know a person, community group or organisation making a difference to life on the Coast, give them the recognition they deserve by nominating them for a 2018 Sunshine Coast Australia Day Award.

You don’t have to be famous to be nominated, we’re looking for the unsung heroes.

The person may be young or old, have achieved something truly special, it may have been a brave act, an act of unparalleled kindness, an act of sacrifice for a greater good, or a commitment to serving others.

2017 Sunshine Coast Australia Day Awards Citizen of the Year recipient Julie Penlington said it was a surprise and a tremendous honour to have received the award.

“It has been a busy but exciting year and the award has helped people see the importance of animal welfare,” Mrs Penlington said.

“The Sunshine Coast is a special place with many wonderful people volunteering their time to build the caring fabric that makes our Sunshine Coast the best place to be.

“Please, if someone you know gives their heart and soul to their cause, nominate them today.”

Nominations are closing soon so if you know a person, community group or organisation worthy of an award nominate them now in one of the following categories:

  • Citizen of the Year, sponsored by 7 News Sunshine Coast
  • Young Citizen of the Year, sponsored by USC
  • Senior Citizen on the Year, sponsored by Maroochy RSL
  • Community – Group or Organisation, sponsored by Sunshine Coast Daily
  • Environment, sponsored by Living Smart Sunshine Coast
  • Creative, sponsored by TAFE Queensland East Coast
  • Sport and Recreation, sponsored by Sunshine Coast Sports Federation.

Nominations close on December 4. You can nominate online here.

Award recipients will be announced at the Sunshine Coast Australia Day Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, January 23, 2018.

The event will include performances by local musicians, special guest speakers and the presentation of awards by Mayor Mark Jamieson.