Sunshine Coast Tertiary Prize winners
  • Thursday 11 August 2011

Winners of Sunshine Coast Councils inaugural Sunshine Coast Tertiary Prize were announced at the Butter Factory Arts Centre in Cooroy on Thursday 11 August.

Peta Moore from Eumundi was the winner of the 2D prize and said she was thrilled and honoured with the win.

"My painting, Beating of my heart, was inspired by my love of the outback and long time association with the land. Studying at TAFE has helped me gather the skills to put my feelings about the bush onto canvas," Peta said.

The 2D and 3D prizes were judged by Director of Artworkers Alliance, Kevin Wilson who said that Peta’s painting was a very strong abstract work that showcases a great sense of colour, tone, texture and line.

Sculptor Peter Kennedy won the 3D prize with his figurative ceramic piece Essentially Earth. The unfinished feel and expressionist nature of the piece encourages questioning and interpretation by the viewer.

The Sunshine Coast Tertiary Prize is a showcase of the region’s young and emerging artists who will each receive $3000 in prize money.

Division 12 Councillor Lew Brennan said that the aim of the prize is to encourage and promote the region’s young and emerging artists, to foster creativity and to raise awareness of the creative educational opportunities on the coast.

"We are delighted to have received over 70 entries to our first ever Sunshine Coast Tertiary Prize," Cr Brennan said.

"The standard of work is very high and bodes well for the future of the Coasts creative sector."

Tertiary prize judge Kevin Wilson, will facilitate an interactive seminar, So you want to be an artist and still be able to eat? on Monday 29 August 10am to 3pm. Presented by Sunshine Coast Council’s Smart Arts program, cost is $40 or $30 concession and bookings are essential.

For further information phone the Butter Factory Arts Centre on 5454 9050.

Sunshine Coast Tertiary Prize entries will be exhibited at the Butter Factory Arts Centre in Cooroy from 12 August to 11 September 2011.