Sunshine Coast Council election declared
  • Wednesday 06 April 2016

The Australian Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) has finalised counting for the 2016 Sunshine Coast Local Government Election Council and declared the election result.

Sunshine Coast Council CEO Michael Whittaker said council had a new councillor representing Division 4 in John Connolly and all other sitting councillors and the Mayor had been re-elected.

The official results are:

Mayor:             Mark Jamieson

Division 1:       Rick Baberowski

Division 2:       Tim Dwyer

Division 3:       Peter Cox

Division 4:       John Connolly

Division 5:       Jenny McKay

Division 6:       Christian Dickson

Division 7:       Ted Hungerford

Division 8:       Jason O’Pray

Division 9:       Steve Robinson

Division 10:     Greg Rogerson

Mr Whittaker said the statutory post-election meeting would be held at the Caloundra Council Chambers, Omrah Avenue, on Thursday April 7, at 9am.

“All councillors will make their Declaration of Office at this post-election meeting and a Deputy Mayor will be appointed by Council,” Mr Whittaker said.

“Council staff look forward to welcoming the 2016-2020 Sunshine Coast Council as we continue to undertake our important work in the community.”

Mayor Mark Jamieson said the new council would continue to make decisions in the best interests of this region.

“The community’s confidence in the agenda that our Council has set since 2012 has been affirmed,” Mayor Jamieson said.

“I think I can speak for all Councillors when I say that we look forward to continuing to shape a sustainable and more prosperous future for our residents.”