Sunshine Coast Australia Day Honours awards recipients go beyond the call of duty
  • Tuesday 29 January 2019

Going beyond the call of duty to make a difference to the lives of others is the common thread behind the 2019 Sunshine Coast Australia Day Honours awards recipients, Mayor Mark Jamieson said.

“Local health care leaders and charity fundraisers are among those who have all dedicated their efforts and energies to providing better health outcomes locally, nationally and internationally.

“They’ve worked tirelessly to improve the lives of their patients and the well-being of our community through their work and charity efforts.

“They’ve made a difference to residents, patients and their families and their loved ones.

“They are joined by people who have made significant contributions in the areas of conservation and environment, in sporting administration and in service to our veterans and youth.”

Dr Steven Coverdale (OAM) of Buderim was recognised for service to medicine on the Sunshine Coast, particularly to cardiac health while Mr Kevin Hegarty (OAM) of Pelican Waters was recognised for service to public health administration.

“As Sunshine Coast Hospital and Health Service CEO, Mr Hegarty was instrumental in the planning and delivery of the State Governments $1.8 billion Sunshine Coast University Hospital,” Mayor Jamieson said.

“The state-of-the-art hospital is treating patients not only from the Sunshine Coast but also our neighbouring areas.”

Michael KELLY (OAM) of Perwillowen was recognised for service to the community of the Sunshine Coast.

Mr Kelly co-founded the Sunshine Coast Health Service charity, Wishlist.

“Again, thousands of patients and their families have benefited from the accommodation and equipment provided as a result of Wishlist’s fundraising efforts, spearheaded by Mr Kelly.”

Ms Susie Chapman (OAM) of Marcoola was recognised for her service to conservation and the environment.

“Ms Chapman’s dedication to protecting our environment will benefit today’s community and our future generations”, Mayor Jamieson said.

Mr Barry Bull (OAM) of Buddina was recognised for service to the performing arts, particularly through music. Mr Bull has also raised funds for the Hear and Say Foundation.

Mr Denis Hare Bem (OAM) of Glasshouse Mountains was recognised for service to veterans and their families while Mrs Amelia Robyn (Lenore) Burton (OAM) of Maleny was recognised for service to youth.

Mrs Jan Maree Becker (AM) of Yandina Creek was recognised for service to community health through neonatal organisations, and to aviation.

Mr Robert Finch (AM) of Alexandra Headland was recognised for significant service to squash through a range of administrative roles, and as a player.

Mayor Jamieson also congratulated Superintendent Darryl Johnson, District Officer, Sunshine Coast District who received an Australian Police Medal (APM), a national honour in recognition of his distinguished service.

“Our community is much safer thanks to the tireless efforts and leadership of Superintendent Johnson,” Mayor Jamieson said.

“You cannot put a price on the safety of our community.

“Congratulations to all Australia Day Honours award recipients. Our community thanks you for giving so much to so many.”