Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2017 finalists unveiled
  • Thursday 17 August 2017
sunshine coast art prize, caloundra regional gallery

Two local artists are among the 39 finalists whose artworks were unveiled today (August 17) at Caloundra Regional Gallery, marking the opening of the Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2017 exhibition.

Arts Portfolio Councillor Rick Baberowski said the exhibition showcased the immense talent of Australian visual artists.

“The profile of the Art Prize has grown significantly over the past 12 years and it is now regarded as one of the nation’s leading regional art awards,” Cr Baberowski said.

“This year, we received 461 entries from a high-calibre field. 

“Finalists include several established artists with strong national and international profiles, including Robert Owen and Daniel von Sturmer, as well as many respected, mid-career artists such as Raquel Ormella, Tim McMonagle and Helga Groves.

“I’m also thrilled to see the work of two local artists, Joseph Daws and Jennifer Herd, amongst the finalists this year.

“I encourage everyone to visit the gallery and make the most of this wonderful opportunity to see the artworks for themselves and I look forward to hearing who the winners will be at the official opening event at Caloundra Regional Gallery on August 31.”

The Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2017 will be judged by the very experienced Angela Goddard, director of Griffith Artworks, Griffith University Art Collection and the Griffith University Art Gallery.

The winner will receive a $25,000 cash prize sponsored by Audi Centre Sunshine Coast and Sunshine Coast Council. The winning artwork will be acquired into the Sunshine Coast Art Collection.

The Highly Commended artist will receive a $5000 cash prize sponsored by local philanthropists, the De Deyne family, and a People’s Choice Prize is also on offer with the winner to receive $2500 thanks to Caloundra Chamber of Commerce.

A Sunshine Coast Art Prize Residency, sponsored by Montville Country Cabins and Caloundra Regional Gallery, will also be awarded.

The exhibition is on display until Sunday, October 8.

More details about the Sunshine Coast Art Prize are available on council’s gallery website.

Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2017 finalists:

Local Sunshine Coast artists: Joseph Daws, Jennifer Herd

Other artists from around AustraliaSamara Adamson-Pinczewski (VIC), Paul Bai (QLD), Chris Bennie (QLD), Jeremy Blincoe (VIC), Julie Bradley (ACT), Aaron Butt (QLD), Anna Carey (QLD), Samuel Condon (VIC), Matt Coyle (TAS), Sam Cranstoun (QLD), Gerwyn Davies (NSW), Mark Dean (QLD), Shoufay Derz (NSW), Helfa Groves (VIC), Lyndal Hargrave (QLD), Naomi Hobson (QLD), Owen Leong (NSW), Ross Manning (QLD), Abbey McCulloch (QLD), Tim McMonagle (VIC), Julian Meagher (NSW), Robert Moore (NSW), Kent Morris (VIC), Nicola Moss (QLD), Catherine O’Donnell (NSW), Raquel Ormella (NSW), Halinka Orszulok (NSW), Robert Owen (VIC), Bundit Puangthong (VIC), Paul Ryan (NSW), Tania Smith (VIC), Jacqui Stockdale (VIC), Mark Titmarsh (NSW), Daniel von Sturmer (VIC), Victoria Watts (VIC), Stephanie Wilson (VIC), Paul Yore (VIC).