Sunshine Coast Art Prize Photography Award finalists’ capture diversity and beauty of Sunshine Coast environment
  • Monday 08 June 2015
Photography landscape image

Twenty-eight finalists have been selected in the hotly contested inaugural Sunshine Coast Landscape and Wildlife Photography competition.

Environment Portfolio Councillor Cr Jenny McKay said she was thrilled to announce that 35 images had been selected from 500 entries to showcase the Coast’s stunning natural environment.

“The standard of entries was outstanding with images of local birds, plants, animals, and breathtaking vistas that capture the essence of the Sunshine Coast,” Cr McKay said.

“Avid photographers have captured both beauty and diversity with images depicting a broad range of ecosystems and geographical locations – from the hinterland to the sea.

“The selection panel had the difficult task of assessing images that addressed the criteria on both image quality and composition.

“Not to be missed, the Sunshine Coast Landscape and Wildlife Photography finalist entries will be exhibited at the Arts & Ecology Centre, Maroochy Botanic Gardens from November 5 to 25. I would personally like to invite residents and visitors to attend the official opening and winner announcement at 6pm on November 5.

“Sponsored by the Environment Levy, the winner of this category will receive $8000 and a Highly Commended cash prize of $1500 will also be awarded

“Through this award the photos draw attention to both the beauty and environmental values of the Sunshine Coast.”

The Sunshine Coast Landscape and Wildlife Photography Award is one of numerous award categories within the Sunshine Coast Art Prize 10th anniversary celebration, with more than $125,000 in cash prizes available for artists. Mediums include painting, sculpture, public art, photography and new media.

Inaugural Sunshine Coast Landscape and Wildlife Photography Finalists
Simon Beedle (Dicky Beach, Queensland), Shanna Bignell (Mt Coolum, Queensland), David Bryan (Nambour, Queensland), Carolyn Blackey (Cooran, Queensland), Wanda Craswell (Wurtulla, Queensland), Fayleen Dare (Eerwahvale, Queensland), Lisa Denaloue (Belli Park, Queensland), Peter Evans (Yandina, Queensland),Todd Fauser (Maleny, Queensland), Irma Ferreira (Twin Waters, Queensland), Ellen Foulds (Point Vernon, Queensland), Ryan Francis (Redcliffe, Queensland), Brian Hettrick (Nambour, Queensland), Jason Hill (Coorparoo, Queensland), Reece Keir (Warana, Queensland), Sel Kerans (Eerwah Vale, Queensland), Tony Leman (Margate, Queensland), Simon Maslak (Mooloolaba, Queensland), Shane McCallum (Mountain Creek, Queensland), Damian McCudden (Buderim, Queensland), Nick Monaghan (Montrose, Victoria), Eddy Odden (Caloundra, Queensland), Kevin Palmer (Caloundra, Queensland), Kimberly Springall (Moffat Beach, Queensland), Geoff Stock (Beachmere, Queensland), Zdenko Takac (Aspley, Queensland), Cornelia Weise (Tewantin, Queensland) and Annette Wood (Buddina, Queensland).

Visit Council’s gallery website for full details.