Storm announce squad for Tigers NRL trial
  • Wednesday 10 February 2016
Storm logo

Melbourne Storm has today announced their 25-man squad that will play Saturday’s trial against Wests Tigers at Sunshine Coast Stadium.

The match will be crucial to the Club’s Round 1 preparations as players look to earn their spot in the team for Storm’s season opener against the Dragons on March 7.

Eleven players from last week’s Auckland Nines team have been named, alongside off-season recruits Cheyse Blair, Jeremy Hawkins, Matt White and Mark Nicholls -who have been named in starting positions for their Storm debut.

The remaining players in Storm’s NRL squad who are not playing the All Stars game will also be travelling with the team up to the Sunshine Coast.

Billy Slater will be joined by Storm teammates including Cooper Cronk, Jesse Bromwich, Marika Koroibete to host Billy’s Buddies clinic for nearly 300 kids.

A full day of rugby league action will then follow on Saturday with Storm’s trial against Wests Tigers marking the first time rugby league will return to the region in seven years.

“There are a couple of positions in our 17 for Round 1 that are really wide open and this weekend certainly goes a long way in helping Craig and his coaches select that,” Storm Football Director Frank Ponissi said.

“There’s probably 9-10 forwards on the weekend playing for potentially a bench or starting spot in the pack, they are all in contention.

“At times last year our lack of depth probably hurt us but this year to have that many ready to go at this time of year is huge.

“There’s a lot of blokes playing their first game of the year and they are just itching to get out there, they are going to be hitting at 100 miles an hour.”

Also playing for Storm on Saturday will be Easts Tigers Michael Kai and Billy Walters as well as Nafe Seluini and Matt Grieve from the Sunshine Coast Falcons.

All four players spent between 4-6 weeks training over the pre-season with Storm’s NRL squad as part of a program helping to provide local talent with a pathway into the NRL system.

Prior to the NRL trial, Storm’s Under 20s Thunderbolts team will play feeder teams Sunshine Coast Falcons and Brisbane Easts, kick-off times are:

  • 2:30pm - Melbourne Storm NYC v Brisbane Easts
  • 3:15pm - Sunshine Coast Falcons v Brisbane Easts
  • 4:00pm - Melbourne Storm NYC v Sunshine Coast Falcons

Melbourne Storm v Wests Tigers

Saturday, 13 February, 5.15pm (Qld time)

Sunshine Coast Stadium

1. Tony Tumusa

2. Richie Kennar

3. Cheyse Blair

4. Curtis Scott

5. Jeremy Hawkins

6. Scott Drinkwater

7. Brodie Croft

8. Matt White

9. Nafe Seluini (Falcons)

10. Christian Welch

11.  Felise Kaufusi

12. Kenny Bromwich (c)

13.  Mark Nicholls

14. Ben Hampton

15. Tim Glasby

16. Dean Britt

17. Jordan McLean

18. Joe Stimson

19. Nelson Asofa-Solomona

20. Francis Tualau

21. Young Tonumaipea

22. Michael Kai (Easts)

23. Matt Grieve (Falcons)

24. Jake Turpin

25. Billy Walters (Easts)