New four-year term begins for Sunshine Coast Council
  • Thursday 07 April 2016
ImageSunshine Coast Council has officially started its new four-year term with councillors making their declaration of office at the Caloundra chamber and the election of Cr Tim Dwyer as Deputy Mayor.

Mayor Mark Jamieson said the March 19 local government election was an strong endorsement of the work of council over the previous four years. John Connolly is the only new councillor in this term, representing Division Four, replacing former Deputy Mayor Cr Chris Thompson who did not seek re-election.

The returning councillors are Mayor Jamieson, Cr Rick Baberowski (Division 1), Cr Tim Dwyer (Division 2), Cr Peter Cox (Division 3), Cr Jenny McKay (Division 5), Cr Christian Dickson (Division 6), Cr Ted Hungerford (Division 7), Cr Jason O’Pray (Division 8), Cr Stephen Robinson (Division 9) and Cr Greg Rogerson (Division 10).

“I am humbled by the strong level of confidence that our residents have shown in myself and each of the elected councillors,” Mayor Jamieson said.

“It is clear to me that our community wants to have confidence in our region’s future. A future that offers opportunities to pursue a career, to access services, to make our communities thrive and to preserve our outstanding natural environment.

“Our community has placed great faith in us. It is incumbent on each of us in turn to live up to their expectations and pursue these goals on their behalf.

“Our responsibilities as Mayor and Councillors are something that we never take for granted.

“As Mayor, it is my objective that our Council not only do well but also do good and it is my expectation that we strive to do this every day.”

Cr Dwyer was elected unanimously as Deputy Mayor, a position he first held with the Sunshine Coast Council from 2008 to 2012.

“Being the Deputy Mayor means a lot to me. It’s an important role and it’s an honour to be given that responsibility by my fellow councillors,” Cr Dwyer said.

“The Mayor has a big job to do and I’ll be there to support him over the next four years.”

Today’s meeting began with a Welcome to Country from Lyndon Davis from the Gubbi Gubbi people and the traditional opening prayer from Pastor Dony Johnston from Lifepointe Baptist Church.

After making their declarations, each councillor took the opportunity to address the meeting and the public gallery.

The first Ordinary Meeting of council will be on Thursday, April 21.