New Sunshine Coast Council assumes office
  • Monday 20 April 2020

Sunshine Coast Council has today commenced its new term with the Acting CEO Warren Bunker taking individual declarations of office by the incoming Councillors.

The composition of the 2020 – 2024 Council is -

  • Mayor Mark Jamieson
  • Cr Rick Baberowski (Division 1)
  • Cr Terry Landsberg (Division 2)
  • Cr Peter Cox (Division 3)
  • Cr Joe Natoli (Division 4)
  • Cr Winston Johnston (Division 5)
  • Cr Christian Dickson (Division 6)
  • Cr Ted Hungerford (Division 7)
  • Cr Jason O’Pray (Division 8)
  • Cr Maria Suarez (Division 9)
  • Cr David Law (Division 10).

Mr Bunker congratulated each councillor on their election and said council staff looked forward to working with the new council to deliver their priorities for the Sunshine Coast.

A statutory post-election meeting will be held within 14 days of the conclusion of the election, at which time council will consider the appointment of a Deputy Mayor and the council meeting schedule for the remainder of the year.

The date and time of the first Ordinary Meeting of council will be determined at the post-election meeting, but must take place before the end of April.   

In the interests of the safety and health of the community and to enable councils to comply with national public health directions related to COVID-19, the Local Government Regulation 2012 has recently been amended in relation to public attendance at council meetings.

With this in mind, it is anticipated a notice will be published on council’s website in the near future indicating that the public gallery will not be available, but that both meetings can be viewed live from