Mayor to chair disaster management group
  • Friday 24 August 2012

Sunshine Coast Mayor Mark Jamieson has taken up the role of Local Disaster Management Group chair.

The post has been held by division 2 councillor Tim Dwyer since 2008.

Mayor Jamieson congratulated Cr Dwyer for his diligence, particularly his work in overseeing the development of the 2012 Plan which contains major alterations to operational procedures following lessons learned from floods and other natural disasters in the state during 2010/11 and 2011/12.

"As of today, as mayor I will assume the role of Local Disaster Management chair," Cr Jamieson said.

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank Cr Dwyer for his diligence in the position."

The mayor also paid tribute to all the members of the Emergency Services and the Local Disaster Management Group who contributed to the development of the new plan.

The 2012-2013 Sunshine Coast Local Disaster Management Plan supersedes the 2009 Plan to reflect amendments to the Disaster Management Act 2003 and the recommendations of the Queensland Floods Commission of Inquiry as well as the experiences of the 2011 and 2012 wet seasons.

"Over the past four years while Cr Tim has been Chair, the Local Group has had to deal with events as significant as Cyclone Hamish, the Pacific Venturer oil spill, the Kin Kin floods, swine flu, an outbreak of Hendra virus and the 2011 and 2012 floods," the mayor said.

"Tim hands over the reins with the region's disaster management response capacity significantly enhanced from where we started in 2008.

"Again, my thanks to you, Cr Dwyer, for directing this result and I ask all councillors to join me in congratulating him on his wonderful efforts," he said.