Councillor portfolios allocated as new council sets direction
  • Thursday 30 April 2020

New portfolios were allocated to all councillors at Sunshine Coast Council’s livestreamed Ordinary Meeting today (30 April).

Councillor portfolios, part of council’s governance arrangements, provide councillors with specific responsibilities in addition to their responsibilities under the Local Government Act 2009.

The portfolio system provides councillors with an opportunity to develop a heightened level of knowledge, leadership and representation across the region in a specified area of responsibility.

Mayor Mark Jamieson said the new Councillor Portfolio System had a strong alignment with the strategic priorities of council as outlined in its Corporate Plan and the organisation’s core responsibilities.

”Portfolio councillors will play a key role in providing input and advice to council officers on portfolio relevant matters,” Mayor Mark Jamieson said.

“Councillors will bring their own experiences along with input directly from the community to the consideration of portfolio issues, which is an important facet of how council develops policy and shapes its services.

“I am confident that all councillors are strongly committed to their portfolio responsibilities and are keen to get to work in these roles.”  


The meeting was livestreamed due to social distancing requirements as a result of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. View a video recording of the meeting on council’s website at


Mayor Mark Jamieson: Region Shaping Projects, Regional Advocacy and Intergovernmental Relations

Cr Rick Baberowski and Cr David Law: Community

Cr Peter Cox and Cr Maria Suarez:  Environment and Liveability

Cr Terry Landsberg and Cr Jason O’Pray: Economy

Cr Christian Dickson and Cr Winston Johnston: Service Excellence

Cr Ted Hungerford and Cr Joe Natoli: Outstanding Organisation.

Cr Hungerford and Cr Natoli were also approved as members of the Sunshine Coast Regional Council Audit Committee.