Council library services set to finalise separation in March
  • Thursday 20 February 2014

Sunshine Coast residents will continue to enjoy the great library collections and high quality services at their local Sunshine Coast Library branch following the separation of the region’s library service into two independent services next month.

As a result of de-amalgamation, the two library services, Sunshine Coast Council Library (Coolum, Maroochydore, Caloundra, Kawana, Kenilworth, Nambour, Beerwah, Maleny and two mobile libraries) and Noosa Library (Noosaville, Cooroy  and one mobile library), will operate independently from mid-March.

Mayor Mark Jamieson said as part of the de-amalgamation process, Sunshine Coast Council had transferred the library staff, buildings and equipment to the new Noosa Shire Council as of  January 1, 2014.

“Since then, both local government authorities have been working together to ensure the more detailed separation of the collections and the membership data is accurate to ensure that both services continue to operate successfully, and with minimal disruptions to borrowers,” Mayor Jamieson said.

“The separation will be finalised in mid-March.

“This date will be a new beginning for both services with Sunshine Coast Council very keen to continue delivering the high quality services that our library users currently enjoy.”

Community Programs Portfolio Councillor Jenny McKay said Sunshine Coast Council and Noosa Shire Council have been working together to ensure a smooth separation of the regional library service.

“I would like to commend the staff as the separation of all the library collections and the cataloguing system into two independent library services has been a big task,” Cr McKay said.

“More generally, I would like to reassure borrowers that the separation will have minimal impact. An important part of the work has been ensuring that library membership information and borrowing histories for people in the Noosa area, and people who are regular users of the services in the Noosa area, have been transferred to the Noosa Shire Council library service.

“Residents from both the Sunshine Coast and Noosa Local Government Areas are welcome to use their current Sunshine Coast Library card to access a Sunshine Coast Library. Residents and regular users of the libraries now in the Noosa Local Government Area will automatically become members of the Noosa Library and will be issued with a Noosa Library card. Importantly, any other person, who wishes to borrow from either service, and who is currently not a member, can do so by simply signing up.

“In other words, borrowers who wish to use both library services will hold, two library cards, to return, borrow, reserve and collect items from each individual library service in the respective Local Government Areas. Items borrowed from each library service will have to be returned to that service.

“An inter-library loan function will also be available so an item can be reserved and then couriered from one service to another.

“Importantly the Sunshine Coast Library service will continue to be welcoming and vibrant community spaces where people can interact, connect, learn and explore.

“I encourage you to chat to your local library branch staff if you have any concerns about the availability of library items – I am sure they will be able to help you out.”

For regular library updates, subscribe to the library eNewsletter today by visiting council’s library website or phone 1300 LIBRARY (542 727).