Home   |   Contact Council   |   Live Chat   |   A-Z   |   MyCouncil Log In         
Go to Sunshine Coast Council home page
Open council's Facebook pageOpen council's Twitter pageOpen council's YouTube pageOpen council's Google plus pageOpen council's Instagram page
Print this page Print this Page

Australia Day Awards


Australia Day AwardsNominations for the 2016 Sunshine Coast Australia Day Awards are now open.

These awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of individuals and groups in the region.

If you know a person, community group or organisation dedicated to making the Sunshine Coast a better place, help us recognise their efforts and nominate them for a Sunshine Coast Australia Day Award.


  • Citizen of the Year, sponsored by Seven Local News
  • Young Citizen of the Year, sponsored by University of the Sunshine Coast
  • Senior Citizen of the Year, sponsored by Maroochy RSL
  • Community - Group or Organisation, sponsored by Sunshine Coast Daily
  • Sport and Recreation, sponsored by Sunshine Coast Sports Federation
  • Creative, sponsored by TAFE Queensland East Coast
  • Environment, sponsored by Living Smart

Awards categories and assessment criteria [PDF 4.18MB].

Entrants will be judged against each of the criteria listed. Timeframes for length of service/contribution/activity must be demonstrated for all categories.

How to nominate

Nominate online now.

Entry brochures are also available at council's customer service centres, libraries and venues.

Nominations close 5.00 pm on 11 December 2015.

2015 award winners

The 2015 Sunshine Coast Australia Day Award winners were:

  • Citizen of the Year: Chris Turner
  • Young Citizen of the Year: Sarah Morcom
  • Senior Citizen of the Year: Prudence Cawley
  • Community - Group or Organisation: PCYC Sunshine Coast
  • Sport and Recreation:Julie Templeton
  • Creative: Ferre De Deyne
  • Environment: Reef Check Australia and Derek Foster

View past award winners [PDF 55KB].

7 Local News aust_day Living_Smart
Maroochy RSL tafe_scada scsf_logo
Sunshine Coast Daily usc_best_both1

Last Updated 26-Oct-15